kindle book review

Alfred: The Boy Who Would be King by Ron Smorynski

alfred cover

Alfred is a typical eleven-year-old boy who spends most of his spare time playing video games on a second-hand computer he was gifted. He is an only child and lives with his mother whom he sees as beautiful and sometimes odd in the way she speaks and dresses. Alfred sees it as old fashioned. Alfred is drawn to books, as well as video games of medieval times, something which has his mother uneasy every time it’s brought up. He also sends his mother into a frenzy when he asked about his father, whom he has never seen or heard of.
One night, Alfred summons an old wizard by saying the name “Bedenwulf.” He believes this to be his father name. The old wizard appears to be out of sorts and has no memory of who he is or what he does yet he manages to transport Alfred into another world, a medieval one. There, they learn the old wizard’s name is Tirnalth, and they meet a faithless cleric, Verbogen.
In the fantasy land, Alfred encounters creatures such as werewolves and gargoyles. He is told that he might be the only surviving heir to rule the kingdom and that an evil witch has driven the entire kingdom into despair. Alfred is determined to fit into the role of King and save his people.
This book was basically advertised as something similar to Harry Potter so immediately it caught my interest. It’s a brilliant middle-grade story and reminded me of Rick Riordan at times. I laughed during this book so the author captures humor well but here’s my concerns about things that could’ve been done differently. Firstly, Alfred is eleven years old and I feel like there are times he sounds more like a preschooler with the excited clapping, and at other times, Alfred is sharing all this knowledge with people. Maybe rework the characteristics for an eleven-year-old boy and the story would work beautifully. With a little editing, this story is a gripping and exciting one for fans of J.K. Rowling and Rick Riordan.

xo Kat

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews|Book Review

811d3zAinkL

Flowers in the Attic is the first installment of The Dollanganger Series, followed by three books and one prequel. I’ve read all except the prequel which I plan to read and review some time.

Does anyone read V.C. Andrews? Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one hehe. I enjoy VC’s books quite a lot. Like I’ve said before, I don’t stick to one particular genre and I hardly read YA so my blog might sound a bit foreign.

If you’ve heard of the movie that came out on Lifetime a couple of years ago, then you’ll know about the taboo subjects explored in Flowers in the Attic as well as throughout the entire series.

Book one follows Corinne and her four children, who has just lost their father in an accident, leaving them in debt. Corinne shows up to her mother’s house with her two teenagers and younger twins, Cathy and Chris and Cory and Carrie respectively. Corinne hasn’t seen her mother in years due to a fallout in which it’s hinted at this time that it was something bad that Corinne did.

Soon after arriving at their grandmother, Olivia’s house, the book centers on the lives of the children who are treated with disdain and scorn. The children don’t quite understand the dynamics of their history yet and are in for a rude awakening when their grandmother locks them in the attic, blocking them off from society, and life.

Corinne rarely visits her children who are abused by their grandmother. They begin to mistrust their neglectful mother as she appears to care more about her wealthy inheritance than her own flesh and blood. Cathy and Chris transforms the attic into a place where their younger siblings can experience life between four walls. They read books and try to teach Cory and Carrie as well as make pretty paper flowers. I’m guessing that’s where the title plays in.

Olivia puts the notion of a romantic relationship in Cathy and Chris’ heads until both siblings’ romantic realizations are for each other. This was the first book I’ve ever read with any sort of incestual relations, but I quite liked the story.

What you’ll want to know before reading this book is, will they ever get out? How will the twins survive the ordeal being so young? And what’s next for Cathy and Chris in terms of their taboo feelings for one another?

Happy Reading!

To find out more what happens to the children and their mother, check out the rest in the series: Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, Garden of Shadows(Prequel-Corinne’s Story)

Leave me a comment if you’ve read this one. Did you like it or not?

xo Kat

The Tycoon’s Revenge|Kindle Book Review

The Tycoon’s Revenge by Melody Anne.

A quick light read about two young sweethearts torn apart by lies and deception. Ten years later, Derek is a successful businessman and millionaire(aren’t they all?) who is out to seek revenge on an old flame and her father for ruining his family. Little does he know, Jasmine blames him for leaving her and she’s been keeping a big secret from him for ten years.

I gave this book three stars, a bit more than it deserved. Not that it was a bad read, I quite enjoyed this story and was hooked from the beginning. There was no major plot twist, although enjoyable and it was written very well but it was no master piece. Unfortunately we’re given only five stars to rate all books so this one deserved some credit for a beautiful love story about family that flowed very well throughout it’s plot.

xo Coffee Doll

What are you reading today?

Working Stiff by Blair Babylon|Book Review

The full title of this book is Working Stiff (Runaway Billionaires #1:Casimir).

With a character’s name like Casimir who wouldn’t want to read this, right? So in between longer books, I like to pick up these quick reads on Kindle mainly in the adult romantic genre. Blame it on my Mills & Boons discovery in high school. I enjoyed this one, and although there was a super rich billionaire in it, I was not annoyed.

Brief Synopsis: Rox works as a paralegal for hot shot lawyer, Casimir who is known for his playboy ways. Deciding not to fall for his antics, Rox pretends to be married for three years. Early on in the book, Casimir meets with some trouble and it draws him and Rox closer together, all the while she’s unaware of his royal roots in Europe.

That’s basically all I can share without giving too much away. If you enjoy a Nora Roberts kind of book with racy scenes, this might be a good read for you.

Book Review: The Night Bird by Brian Freeman

Full title: The Night Bird (Frost Easton Mystery Book 1)

*CONTAINS SPOILERS*

I’m not sure if this book is available in print but I borrowed it on my Kindle through Amazon Prime book borrowing program. Like the title says it’s the first of a series, the titular character being Frost Easton, a detective with the San Francisco Police.

The Night Bird Starts with a girl Lucy riding in the car with her best friend. As traffic gets stuck on the bridge Lucy is somewhat getting paralyzed by her fear of bridges. Meanwhile her best friend freaks out for no reason and jumps of the bridge.

Once Frost Easton starts putting the pieces together, it’s revealed that Dr. Frankie Stein’s patients are being targeted by someone called the night bird. Dr. Stein is a psychiatrist that alters patients’ painful memories, for instance if they have a fear of something or a bad experience. The Night Bird is out for revenge and send them on a wild chase, with a lot of plot twists and turns.

Overall I liked this book and rated it a five, which I rarely ever do. Now it’s not on my top favorites of anything but it was damn good writing. The language flow of the author as well as the story’s pace, details and the way it folded satisfying at the end was just brilliant. I won’t mind reading this author’s work again.

xo

Kindle Book Review Jan 2017

WARNING: Although my reviews may not contain adult content, these books are do. Book reviews also contain spoilers, read at your discretion.

I basically live on Kindle during breaks from longer books. Longer books especially fantasy series can really take a toll on you, the mental and emotional investment you put into it until the end. So I like to read shorter books at intervals, easy reads and less complicated. Most of these books fall under the romance/erotica category…don’t judge me. I read everything 🙂

Dark Desires. (Historical Romance) Darcie Finch is a betrayed and unfortunate girl who gets sent to Dr. Damien Cole for help by her prostitute sister. She get’s hired as a maid but eventually is hired for her artistic skills in which she helps Dr. Cole dissect dead bodies. Darcie grows suspicious that Dr. Cole is obtaining the dead bodies illegally yet she desires him to no end, and he her.

Dark Prince. (Historical Romance) Aidan Warrick, a pirate and smuggler goes to collect his due from Jane Heatherington’s father. He winds up taking Jane, a cripple to work for him for free for seven years to pay off her father’s debt. It’s a story of hate and revenge and passion. Jane learns that her father is not the man she always thought he was as he betrays his own daughter. She also learns that he may have some history with Aidan Warrick, and that Aidan Warrick may not be the dark and dangerous man she initially thought him to be.

Priest: A Love Story by Sierra Simone. A very enthralling story about forbidden love. The writing was phenomenal and I loved how it was told from only the Priest’s point of view. Father Bell is a twenty-nine year old priest, taken his vow of celibacy after a tragedy in his family. One day Poppy enters his confessional and one thing led to another. I’m sure you get the idea but this one wasn’t cringe worthy.  

After the Storm by Claudy Conn. A well written easy read. Some friendship, some lust, some suspense, some betrayal. The Earl of Danfield proposes a marriage of convenience to Jenny, who accepts as she herself can see it working out for her as well. A little bit of chaos here and there with the people that surround them but the book wraps up well and I loved how the story wasn’t rushed. Both characters had a gradual way of falling in love.

Collison (Portland Street King 1) by Evie Harper. I’ve read this this last September so I barely remember the details but I’m sure it’s a good one. Fourteen year old Slater escapes his abusive foster home with his foster siblings and they survive on the streets. Years later, he runs into Piper a social worker whom he is both intrigued and disgusted by because she works for a system he no longer believes in. The brothers are in a turf war/gang thing but it get wrapped up neatly and prepares for the second installment of the series which I have not read.

I have read a vast number of these short steam stories but I can’t review all in one sitting, unfortunately.

xo Coffee Doll