Freelancing Failures and Future Projects

Approximately seven years ago, I started a freelancing company focusing on computer repairs and networking systems. I even dabbled with a little web design but it never took off the ground. I am skeptical about going back into freelancing, having to market myself, reach out to people that don’t want to be reached out to. Nothing comes easy as we all know and I am prepared for the negative as well as the positive. This time around I’m going to extend my book writing into freelance writing services which I’ll cover more in another post. Here are some of the reasons why my freelance business didn’t work in the past.

No Respect as a Professional

Because I started out very young, and somewhat inexperienced, I was at a deep disadvantage. Most of the time you try to network with family and peers before strangers, and those close to me just couldn’t take me seriously as a professional techie or an entrepreneur.

Working for Free

People who know you tend to not want to pay you for your skill set. Even with a registered business, you’re still expected to do favors. It’s tough when you’ve put out the capital to start your business and struggle to make profits.

No confidence

At the time, I thought I marketed my business averagely. I gave out business cards, printed flyers, did social media and the traditional word of mouth. I still lacked the confidence to approach strangers and make a sound point why I would be a suitable candidate for hire.

Lack of Persistence 

Although you fail and fail, and you can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, in this line of work, you must possess persistence. It’s a risk, it’s a gamble and you must be on your best game at all times. Around the time things were going sour, I also migrated to another country so that was a major factor.

Death of Passion

Freelancing isn’t like landing a 9 to 5 job. Most people freelance because it’s what they prefer to do in order to utilize and enhance their skill set. If your heart isn’t in it or your skills are lacking, it really wouldn’t take off the way you want it too.

If you have freelanced in the past or doing it currently, drop me a line in the comments to let me know about your experiences. 

xo Kat

Leave a Reply

