Into The Water by Paula Hawkins|Book Review

Whooo I’m back with an awesome book review. For a while there I’ve not been choosing books to my taste and it’s been frustrating me, because if I stop enjoying reading…then I’d lose my mind.

Into The Water is a psychological suspense/thriller. Although it shares the same brilliant authorship as The Girl on The Train, it was an entirely different story. Paula Hawkins is awesome at taking you through many plot twists and characters’ personalities go up and down rapidly that you end up feeling sorry for the one you feel suspicious about. It’s really a psychological read.

I was surprised by the amount of negative reviews this book garnered on goodreads because I absolutely loved it and rated it five stars. I rarely rate five. In order for me to rate five, the book has to have me on the edge of my seat, losing sleep and just worked up with all sorts of theories.

Anyways, let’s get into the review….

The book starts with the death of Nel Abbott, allegedly drowned. We get the picture that Nel wasn’t liked very much by her community because she was dredging up all sorts of stories from the past, surrounding the deaths of the women who drowned at the drowning pool. It’s soon learned that a few weeks before, Katie Whittaker, a fifteen year old girl who was best friends with Nel’s daughter, Lena, had met a similar fate in the drowning pool.

Detectives Sean Townsend and Erin Morgan try to find out if there was any foul play in the deaths or if it was suicide, like the many who had died there before.

Past events are tied with current events and there’s themes of love, hate, jealously, abuse, all of the above. I finished this book very quickly and would recommend it to anyone who loves a murder mystery.

This book was also told in eleven different POVs which I thought was brilliant but a lot of people didn’t seem to care for. Some were first person, some where third but they were all relevant. I love the way the chapters are short and conveying without unnecessary clutter.

Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

xo Kat

4 comments

  1. I also loved this book! I don’t really understand the negativity this one has gotten. I liked the short chapters and multiple narrators. I found that it really pressed the story along. Others say that it dragged… I don’t get it. Haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

