American Gods by Neil Gaiman|Book Review

So I tried hard to like this book mainly because I think the author puts out great content but at fifty percent, I just couldn’t anymore. I like the protagonist and the concept of the story. Ex-con Shadow gets out of jail after three years, his wife is dead and he runs into Wednesday, who is supposed to be Odin. From what I understand so far, the old gods have to battle the new gods(media, tv etc). All well and good so far but what really threw me off the story is all the little stories in between that don’t seem to have a point. I kept reading about people and things with no wrap up. At fifty percent of the book, I would at least like to have an understanding of what is going on, not to be left more confused. Sorry to say but I must leave this book unfinished to get to my sky high TBR pile. Maybe one day I’ll return to it.

xo Kat

Note: As much as I don’t like leaving negative reviews, I do have my own preferences and tastes in books. I do read mostly at night when I am super tired from a busy day and I believe it impacts my will to stick with a book that hasn’t grasped my attention fully.

Leave a Reply

