The YA Book Craze

I’ve always seen book reviews online, on Youtube, on blogs but recently I’ve been subscribing to more of them on Youtube. Little did I know there’s an entire community online called Booktube. At first I thought it brilliant, as I myself love to share reviews and talk about books. Most of my spare time is spent writing or reading books so finding Booktube was amazing to me until I realized that the same books were being talked about over and over and over until it lost its appeal. Most of these books were also in the YA category.

Now don’t get me wrong, from time to time I enjoy a good YA novel, like most recently History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. And some of my favorite books are YA, such as, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I also enjoyed series such as The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. But most books that are hyped aren’t always worth the hype. I couldn’t get past a few pages in a lot of YA books. Not that they were bad, but because I am no longer a young adult and I enjoy reading a wider range of content.

Come to think of it, I’ve always enjoyed books with older characters like those of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, Nora Roberts, Jodi Picoult, just to name a few. I also like darker content, for example Anne Rice or V.C. Andrews and of course the man himself, Stephen King. I read these novels quite early on so I connect with these type of stories better.

So while I do think that Booktube is amazing and I love it, there is lack of diversity in its genres. It’s largely because there is an abundance of young people making videos on Booktube. Another factor to consider is the marketing part of it where publishing companies send out copies for them to review. Which I have no problem with at all. But I’d like to see some older characters being talked about in crime fiction, historical fiction, action and adventure, romances etc.

I’ve been heavily considering making videos to share my world of reading and thoughts but since I’ve discovered Booktube, I feel like I wouldn’t fit the bill. Maybe I will, at some point in time because I know there are tons of people who read the same books that I do.

What genres do you read? Leave me a comment, I’d love to hear.

xo Kat

2 comments

Leave a Reply

