Benefits of Reading

I have an addiction and it’s one I can’t stop and won’t stop. It’s a thing called reading. I love all things books and stories and have been crazy about it since childhood. I think the lack of computer availability and no such thing called social media(I wasn’t even using the internet in the early 90s) gave me a lot of time to engage in reading as well as develop a love and habit out of it. It was our way of entertainment back then.

I wrote a previous post about what I read as a child so if you’d life to check it out and see what content I put into my head early on use the search bar and type in “What did you read as a child?”

Enough about my little reading history(as if I don’t talk about it enough on this blog).

Of course there’s evidence that reading is beneficial to humans all over the internet. This is just my personalized views on how reading has played an important role not only in my life but those around me.

Knowledge. Well obviously! Anything you read provides some sort of information and you don’t only have to read novels. There are tons of non-fiction books, the newspapers, magazines.

Broadens your vocabulary. Learning how to articulate your words can help you in many aspects of your life, whether it’s having a conversation, writing a letter or doing homework. Sometimes we just can’t find the words to express what we mean. I have experienced first hand on how reading can help with that. And you don’t have to own a brain like a thesaurus…if you read my blog you’ll see that I use the same words and expressions over and over and over.

Better conversation. This goes together with knowledge and vocabulary. If you’re knowledgeable about a topic you can teach someone about something new or have a decent amount of input during a conversation without stars spinning in your head.

Imagination. This is my favorite. If I didn’t have a wide imagination with me throughout my life because I still use it extensively, I’d have gone mad and cracked under the pressure of being a human. Books really were my escape from negative things and when I read, I live within the pages.

Manages Stress. I have an entire post about managing stress and I don’t think I’ve listed reading as one of them. Oops! Reading is how I wind down after a tiring and chaotic day which is basically everyday in my house. It’s the few minutes of the day I can call my own and it does lift the heaviness of the day off of me. Try it!

Diminishes Ignorance. Very simple. If you want to learn about something, read about it.

Goodbye Boredom. A reader is never bored. I used to hate waiting in offices to be tended to, now I don’t. I just always have a an e-book on my phone or my kindle with me.

Helps your school performance. Reading at a young age can really help you focus on material in books. Your understanding of sentences and what they convey come easier if you read extra. It can help you research or writer a paper properly.

xo Coffee Doll

How has reading benefited your life?

2 comments

  1. Happy Mother’s Day! I know it is late but I wanted send that out to you. I also hope you had a nice day. Lol Charlie And The Chocolate Factory! I love that book till this day! Made me wish even as an adult that I would find a golden wrapper:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Same to you, hope you had a lovely day. I was supposed to blog about Mother’s Day but I got caught up. I’ve never read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, I should check it out. Currently reading Oliver Twist 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

