Why I Started Blogging?

I’ve transferred my blog to WordPress in January of this year and started uploading content on it a bit more frequently than I did in the last three years. Yesterday I saw that I had reached fifty subscribers and I was completely bowled over. Fifty subscribers may not seem like much to a successful blogger but it means a great deal to me. When I had my first view, first subscriber and first comment, I felt the same…and that’s a feeling I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

Why, you may ask. It’s simple. Writing is my passion…writing anything, and I am grateful even if I have one reader. I initially started blogging as a way to express myself freely, something I cannot do on social media. My opinions, thoughts and personality is always misconstrued on social media. Everyone gets offended by something even though it has nothing to do with them. Nobody respects anyone’s right to believe or think what they want anymore.

Blogging also gives my writing the longevity and archiving that it needs. I really wanted to write self-helping posts for people who were mainly dealing with depression, loneliness. I’ve dealt a great deal with depression and unhappiness when I was younger and I felt that maybe if I told my stories or shed light on the topic it might help someone else in the same situation.

As time progressed I wanted to write more…about relationships, parenting, lifestyle, books and all of that good stuff and I’m particularly better at writing down my thoughts than saying them to someone so I incorporated all of that into my blog. About two years ago, I started writing again. This time I went for constructed stories¬†written in a novel format instead of poetry here and there, and shorter stories. So now writing is a big portion of what I have planned for my blog as well.

My main goal in taking this blog further is to help people, even if only to bring a smile to their faces. It’s similar to video blogging your life. In this case scenario I write about my journey…

XO

Leave a Reply

