I was jealous of your Grandma

Yeah, I really was. I think I’ve gotten over it now but it still stings a little. So flashback to twenty years ago…

I never knew either of my four grandparents. They had passed on by the time I was born so unfortunately I never even got to see them. I’d always hear the kids at school talk about their grandparents or even my cousins with grandparents who weren’t mine, and I thought, “Wow, it must be cool having a Grandma or Grandpa.”

Despite not having a Grandma or a Grandpa, I could tell they were a bonus parent. The same way your relationship with your parents are special, it’s special with grandparents too. I could see kids being really attached to a grandparent and I often heard about their relationships with their grandparents. I even saw it as many grandparents flocked to the school yard to pick up their grandchildren. Grandparents meant a lot to them, it was definitely something special to have…and I envied it.

I really wanted a Grandma or a Grandpa to run to when life wasn’t being fair. An extra person to spoil me, someone to take my side when my parents were being parents. I felt a little sorry for myself, and I still do, a little. It’s one of the things I really miss having in life, a grandparent. I guess a lot of people might take it for granted because they do have it, but since I never did and saw how amazing it looked like from the outside, a little part of me really cried for it.

Recently I thought about it again, and I haven’t gotten over it. I asked my husband about his grandparents and he had no shortage of words for the love they’ve showered on him and for how much he adored his grandparents. I love asking my mother about her mother, it’s heart warming to hear about the way she was, the things she liked or didn’t like. If you still have a grandparent around, just be nice to them okay…give them some love from a blogger…from me to them. Just love them and care for them, be patient with them as they were patient with us.

xo Coffee Doll

Leave a Reply

