Book Review: The Liar by Nora Roberts

Just a quick synopsis and then I’ll elaborate on what I thought about this book. Contains spoilers, just thought I’d throw that out there.

Shelby Pomeroy, mother of three year old, Callie, has recently been widowed and found out that her husband was a gigantic liar and asshole, and he left her up to her eyeballs in debt. After she manages to sell off some things from her lavish lifestyle, she moves back to her small home town in Tennessee. She’s determined and headstrong to make a better life for herself and her daughter as well as rekindle past relationships with her family and friends. She also encounters romance and danger on the way.

I do love me a good cheesy romance with some suspense in it. Whoever said chivalry is dead has been unfortunately misinformed. I loved Griffin, as I’ve love many of the heroes in a book. He was flirty, kind, courteous and kinda hot, as the book implied throughout. I agreed with Shelby’s take on her life, owning up to her mistakes and not beneath fixing it. The only issue I had with story itself was that her dead husband, who wasn’t really dead showed up too late in the book. During the first few pages when it was indicted his body was never found at sea, I predicted off the bat that he was alive and he’d be the main villain. However, I love a good cheese fest so I stuck with it and it was a nice little book overall, I rated it a three on Goodreads.

What I could’ve done without in this book was the clutter, and I felt like it was more clutter than detail. Many times I felt like putting this book down and starting another but I’d recently done that with The Sun Is Also A Star, and I just couldn’t haul the guilt of leaving two books unfinished back to back. So I stuck it out. There were a lot of characters in this book, Shelby having a large family and all and sometimes I mixed up the characters names’ that were named after each other, such as the son and father or grandson and grandfather. There were also unnecessary details included about not so important characters and that was a bore fest. It was just a bit much and could’ve been omitted in my opinion.

XO

Leave a Reply

