Why My Facebook Activity Has Declined Significantly

A few years ago I’ve started recognizing people’s lack of ability to respect others’ space even on a social media platform. I’d share entertaining posts, posts that related to me on a personal level, posts that made me angry or sad…basically I’d share my opinions on a lot of things.

I would think that MY profile is my own to do as I wish and it’s nobody’s business if they approve or not of what I post. But this isn’t the case. As the years progress, it’s getting even worse. Anything can offend anyone and believe me when I say everything offends someone.

I don’t check my notifications as often as before, actually I dread opening my app now. The bad news puts me off but it’s a part of life, something we can’t completely hide from. But it’s the stupidity and the ignoramuses behind their keyboards who feel like it’s their duty to dictate what the content of another person’s comment is. It’s the bullying, the shaming, the lack of respect for differences. It’s sickening to a point where I feel like I’d love to delete the app some day. But I do use it as a means to keep in contact with friends and family living on a different continent.

I’ve removed my children’s photos from FB now as I don’t even wish to socialize on that level. I don’t have strangers on my friends list either, it’s either people I’ve gone to school with or were acquainted with, and family. And yet it’s easier to use platforms like WordPress, Twitter, Instagram with a pseudonym and get my opinions across. People choose whether they want to read my content or not and move on. Ugh, I hate to rant in my first post for the week. Does anyone else have this problem with expressing your opinions and being attacked for it?

xo Coffee Doll

Leave a Reply

