Why I don’t do Valentine’s Day

heart-762564_640When people hear me say that I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, I usually get frowns and smirks. Automatically that person thinks maybe she’s being sour because she’s all alone on Valentine’s Day or maybe her partner just doesn’t love her that much. I’ve heard women speak, and yes, even Valentine’s Day is a competition. It’s sometimes about whose significant other is more romantic, and it can be seen all over social media on February 14th.

I’ve went through different phrases of Valentine’s Day and most of them were spent like a normal day and I’ll share why in a bit. I’m not sure how the entire world celebrates Valentine’s Day but on this side of the globe, we’re conditioned from a very young age in believing that love should be celebrated in some extravagant way on this day. We’re made to feel that if the day isn’t spent  with “over-the-top” romance, then it’s a failure. We put so much effort into making this day special for our significant others, and we also set the expectation bar very high.

As a teenager, I saw a lot of female peers getting pampered and taken out on fancy dinners on this day and I’d always wondered what that felt like. When it was my turn to receive those cuddly bears and fattening chocolates, there was a certain anticipation. After I experienced a typical Valentine’s Day, it eventually turned February 15th and I asked myself…what was the point of that?

Giving it some thought, I finally derived what was the true meaning of Valentine’s Day. It’s part of our culture and it’s also a monumental commercial season. I won’t get into the marketing aspects of how little pink and red things get sold around Valentine’s Day to make someone feel special for five minutes, but I will say…aren’t you in love for the other three hundred and sixty four days of the year? Why do we limit love to just one day? And if you surprise your partner on other days, then why the need to promote romance on this one particular day?

Whenever I think of love…I have it, unconditionally at all times and I’m talking about parental love, love from family, friends, pets, etc. Whenever I think of candies and chocolates, I don’t want anymore. I’m diabetic and my kids are still developing teeth but it won’t stop my spouse from bringing it home every other day. I’m sure most of us go on dinners, outings, trips all year around so pardon me if I can’t fully comprehend what differentiates February 14th from all the other days of the year. I’d still love to hear how this day affects you and your partner, and why, and maybe put together a post on it.

xoxo Coffee Doll

Image: pixabay.com

One comment

  1. I feel the same way. I grew up with this day being a huge deal, whether about romance or friendship – you needed to buy and receive things (usually chocolate but sometimes jewelry or flowers) to show and feel loved. I was conditioned to think it was necessary. It’s NOT! My husband and I don’t do anything on V day. We show love for each other, our children, and our friends year round. Also, didn’t we just (supposedly) show we loved everyone by the Christmas presents we did?! No????) lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

