Writing Day Off and Ruined Coffee

Yesterday morning, as I groggily made my way to the kitchen for my cup of “day-starter”, I did something I do more often that I’d like. Instead of the usual non-dairy creamer that I use in coffee, I poured the kids’ soy milk in there instead. Thankfully, I didn’t pour a great amount but my coffee was ruined nevertheless. I glanced at the clock thinking of the three long minutes that I’d have to wait for another cup of water to heat and thought I’d surely pass out on my kitchen floor by then. So I did the unthinkable. Yes, I added creamer to the ruined cup of coffee.

Although the funny taste, I had enough gulps to wake myself up. I have no shame when it comes to caffeine in the morning. By no means was this coffee a day spoiler, compared to some of the abominations I’ve drank before but my brain registered it as such. After dropping my oldest to preschool, I felt normal. The day would be fair, I thought. But my brain kept thinking about that cup in the morning and nagging me to have a different day.

I thought surely, I’d choose a topic from my handy book and carve together something for my blog, maybe write a few words for a story but as the day progressed, none of that happened. I didn’t laze by any means, I caught up on life aka laundry. I write my best at night when the kids are asleep and I don’t have that niggling feeling that someone is going to make me get up from my spot. But last night I felt like I should have a day off. Bear in mind I do study as well so I was taking a day off from all of that. I opted to look at a movie since it’s been a while that I’ve sat down and really absorbed myself in a film.

I chose Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, and I assure you, the movie was nothing short of fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and can I commit blasphemy and say at some parts I felt like it was almost better than Harry Potter. Oh no! I did not just say that. It’s not that it was a better story than Harry, but I felt at this age I enjoyed Fantastic Beasts. I grew up with Harry and my eyes glazed over as a teenager/adolescent when I read the books and saw the movies but if I were to see it now in my super late twenties for the first time, it may not have the same effect. Fantastic Beasts definitely hit the spot. It was absolutely terrific and I almost don’t feel bad for giving myself that day off.

xo Coffee Doll

Leave a Reply

