Reading in A Different Accent

Do you find yourself reading in a different accent than your native one? This is truly as bizarre to experience as it sounds. I’m sure it happens to many people, right? Right? For some inexplicable reason, I read out loud in a British accent and my inner voice also speaks with one. My first language is English and I have a Caribbean Islander accent so I can’t for the life of me figure out this occurrence. We do not pronounce the letter R and we do spell words like favorite and color with a “u” but it still does not explain why my reading and inner voice is full on Brit.

I’ve never went to Britain by the way and I’d love to visit. I’m fascinated by the accents around there, English, Irish, Scottish…they’re just really attractive accents and possibly my favorite ones in the entire world. The only legitimate reason I can think of is that I really loved playing around with accents as a child and this being my favorite one lent itself to my inner voice.

I do enjoy enjoy reading historical dramas and romances just to hear the way they spoke, the slang they used and I think it does have an effect on the way I write as well. A negative one, actually. When I write contemporary romances or stories it’s basically set in the now, and my language needs to be in the now. It’s already an effort to upkeep with today’s words and slang and not the ones in the nineties that I know of and it’s especially harder when you have an inner voice speaking like you’re from the Victorian Era. I find myself using words like naught or whence and when I proofread, I mentally hit myself in the face.

Sometimes I wish I could separate what I want to project into my story and my inner voice. We all have our challenges, unfortunately…

xo Coffee Doll

3 comments

Leave a Reply

