Short Story Failure & Musical Inspiration

So I planned to rework on a short story that I began sometime last year and post parts of it on my blog today. Lo and Behold, my creativity flew out the window. I couldn’t even manage to cut and paste some work I had already saved. Shame! Shame! Shame! (It’s a Game of Thrones thing if you watch that show).

I used to write poetry  an era ago. It was pretty dark for a teenager but it was true to my feelings. I remember listening to music as a sort of creative inspiration and the words would just come to me. When I started working on stories, I just killed all of that, thinking I need silence to concentrate but the silence is so deafening, isn’t it? I just sit there and stare at my blank screen for hours on end and get distracted by social media.

I do listen to upbeat music or grunge while I’m doing chores around the house so I can gain the relevant energy to perform physical tasks but what type of music do I listen to when writing? Surely it can’t be like Breaking Benjamin or System of A Down. Maybe Coldplay???

But I may have just found the perfect melody.

I look at this show on the History Channel called Vikings. I recently started looking at it and totally binged in a few days. Now I’m all caught up and I never thought I’d say this but I just may have bumped it further up than The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones. :O It’s a brilliant show, well written and the performance is absolutely amazing. Okay, let’s not get sidetracked. The music on this show is just phenomenal. I don’t think I’ve ever really listened to this type of music before and I am absolutely blown away.

The title track is soothing to the soul. I think it’s sung by a Swedish artist. Most of the background music used during the show is a type of Nordic folk music and while I have no idea what they’re saying, it’s just so alluring. I literally get goosebumps when I’m playing it. I’ve just started putting together a playlist called “Writing Music.” It’s just so serene. Your mind can really belt out some ideas while engrossed in it.

Well, I’m yet to see my productivity levels listening to my newfound love in music.

xo Coffee Doll

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

