Fueled by Coffee

a-cup-of-coffee-399478_1920Am I right? This isn’t just a mom thing, it’s an everyone thing. Most of us need a cup of coffee first thing in the morning to even function. I’m one of those people in the literal sense. On Tuesday morning I woke up feeling tired…PMS week and my toddler still wakes up at night so you know what I’m talking about.

I think I was a tad bit late that morning and contemplated skipping my first cup of coffee until after I dropped my preschooler off to school. A couple of steps from my bed to the bathroom, then to the kitchen….andddd nope! I couldn’t do it, I just could not do it.

My seventeen month old started waking up and it was time to wake my four year old for school and my mind started racing and blanking at the same time. My muscles locked and I felt this huge weight on my back. I needed that cup, drastically. I was like eff this sh*t, I need coffee else we’re not making it out of the house today.

Coffee wields the power to make or break your day, and yet we can’t seem to call it what it is….a drug. Is it a drug we even want to be weaned off of? The honest truth? No. Both times that I got pregnant, I tried to quit coffee and it was horrible. I knew that large amounts of caffeine would be bad for the baby so I switched to decaf. It was horrible, absolutely traumatizing. I remember my second pregnancy, for the first three months I could not move from the bed. Lots of headaches and fatigue. Now these symptoms may seem reasonable for a pregnant woman but it was made even worse with caffeine withdrawal.

Each time after my babies were born, I decided I’m not going to go back to coffee. I survived without it for nine months so what’s a lifetime? Well it’s easier said than done. I function better with it, I’m able to care for two kids, study and write, run errands and upkeep the house among other things. Most days I just need that one big cup in the morning to kick things off but there’ll be days I need an additional cup or two to get through the day.

How do you take your coffee? My coffee life has evolved since the day it started. Several years back I was won over by all the pretty and tasty flavored coffees and creamers and I absolutely needed to have brewed coffee. After having my second child a year and a half ago, my dad left a bottle of instant nescafe(dark roast) and I used it one morning…and I haven’t gone back to anything else ever since. I’m just so terrified that if my coffee tastes different, it’ll ruin my day.

If you have any suggestions of yummy coffees, leave me a comment or send me a note.

xo Kat

“Happy Drinking”

Image: Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

