Why I Use A Pseudonym

Not sure if I’m ever going to reveal my pseudonym on here, and I’ll explain why in a bit. 

I was basically ready to publish something quickly and I thought it up in the moment while designing the book cover. No lengthy thought process went into it. I used a shorter version of my first name, Kat, but I have since then changed it due to security and privacy reasons which I’ll go in depth below.

I use a pseudonym for two reasons. Reason one being, for privacy. Only a few people who are close to me know about my writing projects. It’s not that I’m ashamed of it but I am self conscious of people who I know in real life. The reality is, I don’t know a lot of supportive people, just judgemental ones, that’ll take my work and twist it into something to gossip about.

My work is inspired by a lot of things, mostly just a thought that’ll come to me while doing everyday things. An idea just hits me and I take it to pen and paper and just roll with it. Ninety-five percent of the time, the plot changes when I start working on a project but initially the ideas just come to me during routine life. 

Reason two that I use a pseudonym, I have no particular genre that I favor when it comes to reading. I am basically a sucker for storytelling. I appreciate everything that another author puts into fruition and I also write that way. When an idea hits me, it’s not always a romantic one, it can be a fantasy one, a crime fiction one etc. So I use my current pseudonym for Contemporary Romances as of date and I may release some Dark Romance and Romantic Suspense under the same pseudonym, however, I may be writing fantasy under a different name. Don’t quote me on that, I haven’t quite made up my mind about that.

As well as children books, I’d have to use another name to separate it from adult genres. I would absolutely love to write a series of books for children as I have two small children myself who are fond of books.

xo Kat

Leave a Reply

