Bitter Vs Better

Bitter vs Better…. what does this mean to you? We may see becoming a better person as a sign of weakness when in reality it could be one of our greatest strengths. Too often being bitter is chosen over being better. At first it feels great to be in a revengeful position. It’s feels like winning and that is a feeling so great that we tend to become more and more bitter to upkeep that superior position.

Bitterness is a present feeling and attitude not a future one. It’s only so long you can get a kick out of making someone else hurt or pay for what they’ve done to you. A grudge may last a super long time but not forever. Even if you don’t make peace with it, eventually you’ll need to move on.  There are people that I have chosen to simply ignore and remain silent to. Many years later I feel great that I didn’t make an a** out of myself trying to prove them wrong. 

However long you may feel bitter towards a person, whether it’s a week or years, it will indeed have an impact on you and your life. Focus on what the bitterness does to your heart and mind. Carrying around any negative feeling makes you feel heavy inside, sometimes even dirty. It’s darkens your life, it becomes you.

In the past, I have let grudges get the better part of me to the point where it was hard for me to live, to appreciate myself. I would just lock myself in my room and wallow in the fact that others made me feel uncomfortable. It made me so dark, so disconnected from my life. I felt paranoid, like everyone was out to get me. This is what happens when you stay bitter for too long. You forget to live.  

I still feel like I have wasted a portion of my life being so bitter all the time. Now that I have learned to move on and stay positive, it seems really silly that my old self was hiding from life. Life is never going to be perfect, there will always be bad things and bad people crossing your path. You can’t change that but you can change your attitude towards it. I wish I had the strength and knowledge I have now when I was a teenager, but life is a learning process and what I know now helps me to be better at handling bitterness. 

Don’t get me wrong, I am bitter quite a lot, people just don’t see it. I don’t feel the need to project my bitterness onto someone else to prove a point. We’re all human and we feel anger and hatred but we don’t always have to act on it and make stupid choices. Saying and doing things out of anger can cause you loads of embarrassment later in life.Being better towards people and situations is being better to yourself. Bitterness hinders your progress as a person. Keep your dignity, don’t stop living and don’t forget how to smile. Your happiness lies within you.

xo

Kat

Leave a Reply

